EdTech 503 Module 3 Reflection

This week we have been working on creating a flowchart and starting to think of questions for our needs assessment of our ID Project. This has been a great task that really makes you think about the overall goal you have for the learner and what steps are needed in order for the learner to be successful at achieving the goal. In Ross Perkins Adobe Connect “Learning Objectives” presentation, he mentions that learning is represented by change. If learning is going to take place, we need to make sure that we use the information from our needs assessment and focus on learning objectives the learner has not mastered. When doing this, we must make sure our flowchart is broken down into steps that are manageable so that this change can occur.

Through the Module Discussion, I have been able to give feedback to fellow students and help them in evaluating their flowchart, goals, type of learning, and learning objectives. By doing this, I have not only been able to see flaws in other projects, but also see great examples of an ID project. Even though we have been focusing on projects other than our own, I have actually thought of many different ways I can improve my ID Project through evaluating others’. On the other hand, I have received some great feedback on my initial ID Project post. The feedback that has benefited me the most is on the learning objectives. After looking at feedback others have received, I wish the flowchart creator, LucidChart was a tool that did not require a log-in in order to view. I believe this has been a deterrent for some students that do not currently have a LucidChart account.

I have actually really enjoyed creating the flowchart for my ID Project.I think it’s because I tend to be pretty detail oriented in my everyday job, and this week I have really had to think about each step. As I was teaching this past week, the students were required to create a presentation and present it to the class. After I received many questions from students as the project was underway, I began to think that my instructional objectives must not have been clear enough and I assumed too much information about their prior knowledge. I really like how this project has begun to change my thought process as I teach.

Leave a Reply

