EdTech 503 Module 2 Reflection

What have you learned about Instructional Design this week? What ideas or concepts resonate with you the most? 

This week, I have had the opportunity to do an instructional design case analysis on a scenario that takes place in a high school setting. This has been a great experience to evaluate a scenario that could potentially happen in my school setting depending on the needs of my school. Currently, my school exceeds in Math, and Reading test scores and we are living by the motto “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it”. However, at some point this may change and a needs assessment may need to be done for one of the following reasons:

  • There’s a problem with the way things currently are.
  • There is something new that learners need to know.
  • No big problem is determined, but an organization wants to know if it’s procedures align with it’s goals.

What have you learned from working on your project and participating in the Module Discussion?

While working on my project, I have been able to see things from a perspective that I have not had to before. My entire career I have been solely focused as a teacher and not as an instructional designer or administrator. This case analysis has also allowed me to realize there are different perspectives from the students as well. Some students come into my classes having background information on the topics we cover, and others are a blank slate.
The other concept I have really been focusing on is thinking through things as though I know nothing about the subject matter. I have found that this has been a harder issue with topics that I have mastery of as most things just occur automatically rather than having to think through every step.
For my project, I am having students do something I have no experience with. They are documenting their work and semester progress by creating a website using Wix. I currently have no experience using Wix, but have heard it is a great website-creating free resource.

How do you relate your module learning to your current or future work? 

I mentioned earlier that my school is currently thriving in state-test scores and achievement. However, we are lacking in overall integration of technology. I am a big proponent for tech integration, but fear that I might get a lot of backlash from teachers when I try and push for this tech integration when students are currently thriving in what’s happening. So the motto, “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” rings true, but at what point are our teaching strategies and technology integration so outdated that something must be altered?

Leave a Reply

