RSS for Education

Teaching Resources Bundle

I have now begun my journey into the overwhelming world of RSS feeds. Really Simple Syndication, or RSS feeds, are a way to organize and streamline information from your favorite websites.

Even though I am familiar finding ten or more daily new emails from websites or blogs I subscribe to, I am finding my Google Reader feed to be quite mind-boggling. I’m not sure if this is because I am reading my feed in addition to my emails, or because my feed is a new system I am getting use to. Currently, I read multiple emails from multiple email accounts and delete or archive the email once I am done reading the article.

The way I see myself using RSS in the classroom is using my feed as a database for new ways of effectively using technology in the classroom. I do not plan on having my students use it at this time, but I do plan on “unsubscribing” to all the emails I am receiving and now just checking my Google Reader for all the new updates.  RSS seems to fit well with my motto of work smarter, not harder.

One thought on “RSS for Education

  1. OK sounds good, but I wanted to read more. In what other ways might you use RSS in the classroom. How is RSS different from email subscriptions? One of the differences is that RSS is completely anonymous–no one except you knows you are subscribing to content from that site. I wasn’t sure if you really understood RSS from reading your post, but maybe my eyes are getting blurry from reading and feedback. 🙂

Leave a Reply

